The FIFA World Cup has been organised every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The last tournament took place in Brazil in 2014 and was won by the German National Team, which won its fourth.

The current format of the competition involves a qualification phase, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase. In this moment 32 teams can participate in the tournament , including the automatically qualified host nation or nations. Until now there were 20 World Cup tournaments and this 20 tournaments have been won by eight different national teams. Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina and Uruguay, with two titles each; and England, France and Spain, with one title each.